When I started Stratego, I started with the 1986 edition. Naturally, when the 2002 Nostalgia edition was also taken. There was a rule we always played with and I'd like it to be an optional rule you can use in games...
The "Rescue Rule" - if you reach the opponent's back row you may regain any captured piece
-Scouts cannot rescue, cannot rescue bombs, only 2 rescues allowed. Must be placed on your 5 row side of the board.
This rule I ALWAYS played with, so when I played and found it was not there, I was confused, as I believed it was a normal rule! This rule is actually very fun and can add an interesting twist, as I've brought many a-marshal back into the game
however, I've also brought the same amount, if not more, spies! hahahahaha.
I rest my case.