Jump to content


Photo

Taking the general with the marshal


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 roeczak

roeczak

    Major

  • Tournament Manager
  • 1,078 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Platinum Major

Posted 27 August 2016 - 12:19 PM

My friend (who is ranked about 400 ) says it is a good idea to trade his marshal for the opponent's general , even if in almost all cases you lose the Marshal, because then he does.not have to care about the spy (but only about the opposing Marshal ). He usually does this if he knows the opposing marshal or if he knows and can eat a colonel with the general , therefore at the worst case having a colonel for the known marshal and at best case having general and colonel to compensate for the marshal. What do.more experienced players think about this?
Roeczak <----- Stratego YT channel
Highest Rating : 966 (Platinum Marshal)

#2 Enigma

Enigma

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Platinum Scout

Posted 27 August 2016 - 12:33 PM

My friend (who is ranked about 400 ) says it is a good idea to trade his marshal for the opponent's general , even if in almost all cases you lose the Marshal, because then he does.not have to care about the spy (but only about the opposing Marshal ). He usually does this if he knows the opposing marshal or if he knows and can eat a colonel with the general , therefore at the worst case having a colonel for the known marshal and at best case having general and colonel to compensate for the marshal. What do.more experienced players think about this?

 

Optimal conditions for making the trade are when:

 

-You still have your spy.

-Your general is unknown.

-Your opponent's marshal is known.

-Your colonel or general are in position to immediately attack and capture other pieces after making the trade.

-You already have an advantage in smaller pieces.

-Your flag is not susceptible to a lotto attack from your opponent's marshal.


  • GaryLShelton, maxroelofs, Dobby125 and 4 others like this

#3 Dobby125

Dobby125

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 359 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Silver Major

Posted 27 August 2016 - 11:14 PM

Enigma's list is great.  A couple of other variables that I would consider:

 

How many pieces has your opponent moved?

How many bombs have you found?

Do you have scouts in position to do rapid scouting to help with a general/colonel attack after you sacrificed your marshal. 


  • GaryLShelton likes this

My Youtube Stratego Channel: https://www.youtube....cGDvlZZkGbgq0LA


#4 scottrussia

scottrussia

    Captain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 822 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Major

Posted 28 August 2016 - 03:39 AM

Rule #1.  If you can kill the general, kill it.

Rule #2.  See Rule #1.

Rule #3.  Only time it may not apply is if you have lost your spy.

Rule #4.  Kill the General!!!!!!!


  • Lonello and Caesar101 like this

​Spartan Warriors

KING of the Battlefield!!!!!!


#5 Lonello

Lonello

    General

  • Honorary members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,226 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Gold Marshal

Posted 29 August 2016 - 09:32 AM

Same rules go for Marshals and Colonels I believe. And the rest of the Spartan Warriors?! :lol:  :P


  • Caesar101 likes this
Lo

#6 Dr. Zomboss

Dr. Zomboss

    Spy

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Lieutenant

Posted 30 August 2016 - 01:04 AM

I go for it too, I know how to work without a Marshal.



#7 Guldin

Guldin

    Miner

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Platinum Scout

Posted 06 September 2016 - 06:20 AM

there is always a chance your opponent is bluffing the spy which is what makes it the most tempting. in fact, this horrible bluff happens more than i would expect it to and i imagine players who do this are probably not very good poker players.  ;)


Edited by Guldin, 06 September 2016 - 06:21 AM.


#8 blackboard

blackboard

    Scout

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Gold General

Posted 10 September 2016 - 05:33 PM

I take it fully expecting to lose the marshal, but about 1 in 5 times, maybe 1 in 6 or 7 - so not often anyway, the spy isn't there! But I don't think you can do this if you haven't seen his marshal yet or if you already lost your spy.



#9 General J. Wolfe

General J. Wolfe

    New Recruit

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Spy

Posted 18 September 2016 - 10:14 PM

If the opponent reveals his General and my Marshall is still hidden and I still have my Spy and a Colonel I will go for the opponent's General for sure if I can. Sure this will reveal my Marshall but then I can use him to lure his Marshall next to my Spy and capture it.


  • Witherguy5 likes this

#10 Witherguy5

Witherguy5

    Spy

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Gold Spy

Posted 18 September 2016 - 11:50 PM

If the opponent reveals his General and my Marshall is still hidden and I still have my Spy and a Colonel I will go for the opponent's General for sure if I can. Sure this will reveal my Marshall but then I can use him to lure his Marshall next to my Spy and capture it.

Yes, exactly how I play, except I use the spy differently.



#11 Witherguy5

Witherguy5

    Spy

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Gold Spy

Posted 18 September 2016 - 11:51 PM

I would also go for it if he is up one big and you are up 6 smaller pieces.


  • hondjekapitein likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users