Jump to content


Photo

3 consecutive moves


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 General Croz

General Croz

    New Recruit

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Miner

Posted 05 March 2016 - 02:49 AM

Can someone explain the 3 move can not move any more when being attacked? I thought I understood it but have been caught up in it unexpectedly 



#2 GaryLShelton

GaryLShelton

    Marshal

  • Moderators
  • 4,224 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Gold Captain

Posted 08 March 2016 - 07:02 AM

Yjfq51W.png

 

 

 

 

General Croz, the Two Squares rule has been established in the last decade by the ISF (International Stratego Federation) at Article 10.1 and 10.2.  It operates practically as shown above.  In the picture above it is blue's turn and the blue Marshal is going to move to the right with the arrow to I4.  Because of the bombs the red Major at I7 will be trapped by the blue Marshal.  By contrast, the red Colonel at A8 does not have a Two Squares advantage on the blue Lieutenant and cannot capture him with only his Major.  

 

The Two Squares rule at 10.1 will allow only three moves between the same two squares by the same piece in any three consecutive turns of that player. The fourth move between the same two squares will be blocked.  I hope that's clear.  The programming at stratego.com has this feature programmed well and operates exactly how it should.  In fact, 10.2 applies to Scouts and the Two Squares rule and this site is the only major site to have that part programmed correctly.  But that is a whole other dialog.   

 

Good Luck.


The complete GS&F Rules can be found here: http://forum.strateg...rum-rules-2016/

Draw Refusal Rules, specifically, can be read here: http://forum.strateg...604#entry339604




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users