11. Repetition of Threatening Moves: MoreSquares Rule
11.1 It is not allowed to continuously chase one or more pieces of the opponent endlessly. The continuous chaser may not play a chasing move which would lead to a position on the board which has already taken place.
What does the phrase "a position on the board which has already taken place" mean exactly?
- Any position in the history of the game?
- A position in the current chasing sequence?
Take e.g. the following position with red to move:
1. c8-a8 b9-a9 (chase)
2. a8-b8 (evade) a9-b9 (chase)
3. b8-c8 (evade) b9-d9
4. c8-b8 d9-b9 (chase)
5. b8-a8 (evade) b9-a9 (chase)
is it allowed for blue to play 5... b9-a9?
Under interpretation 1), it would not be allowed since the same position has taken place already after blue's first move.
Under interpretation 2), it would be allowed, since the position has not taken place already in the same chasing sequence.
What do the rules experts say? What was the intent of the ISF rule and what is the letter?
EDIT: Vincent de Boer writes in his thesis (p. 113)
In short that means you are not allowed to do a move that would lead to a situation on the board that has already taken place during an uninterrupted sequence of threatening moves. After a single non-threatening move, all history is thrown away and all moves are allowed again.
So he adheres to interpretation 2). To me, the language of the ISF-rule is insufficiently clear, though.
Edited by TemplateRex, 22 September 2018 - 10:05 AM.