If the last two pieces exchange, is it a draw or whoever has the next turn loses?
Jump to content
Posted 09 October 2017 - 07:59 AM
In a game of today I moved a scout from E1 to E8 to scout a piece at D8, that could only move to D7. So he moved to D7, I to E7, he to D8, I do E8, he to D7 and then I could not move again. Is that correct? I was kind of surprised by this.
Feedback pretty please with sugar on top?
Posted 09 October 2017 - 09:33 AM
If you don't know where you go ... you have a lot of chance to arrive elsewhere ...
Posted 09 October 2017 - 12:11 PM
I just looked in a rules book and it reads: " if all your movable pieces have been captured AND you cannot move or attack on YOUR turn, you must surrender and declare your opponent the winner."
According to this, if I can force my opponent to put his last piece beside my last piece and I can move and attack on my last turn, trading our final pieces. My opponent is the only player left not being able to move or attack on his turn, not me.
Posted 09 October 2017 - 01:08 PM
There is a difference there probably between making computer software and properly checking the win conditions and human logic and interpretation of the board.
Posted 09 October 2017 - 01:45 PM
The other player has to show he can do a move. If not, its a draw.
Posted 09 October 2017 - 03:52 PM
Posted 09 October 2017 - 04:04 PM
Posted 09 October 2017 - 06:14 PM
Posted 09 October 2017 - 09:51 PM
Posted 14 October 2017 - 12:26 AM
This question is already settled in the ISF rules. It's a draw:
But I agree with Wogomite that it could make the outcomes a bit more dependent on skill if it the rules gave the win to the player who made the last move.
By the way, Metaforge had a weird programming quirk. If neither player could move but one player had a piece that was bombed in then that player would win, since it recognized only one player without pieces. But if both players had a bombed in piece then the player who made the last move would win (Metaforge gave automatic losses if a player had three turns in which he didn't make a move in 60 seconds, so if each had a bombed-in piece the first player whose turn it was after the final sacrifice would be the first to have three lost turns.)
Full rules can be found here:
Posted 19 October 2017 - 07:25 PM
Today I played vs a Silver General who played really solid and I lost, except that he resigned at the moment he captured a bomb next to my supermegaobvious flag. This was intentional. Why would anyone keep his rating low in this way?
Posted 19 October 2017 - 07:37 PM
Posted 27 October 2017 - 01:06 PM
What is the highest amount of games anyone has played on the site?
The gold captain I played yesterday had over 15000 played games
That is about 6 months of continuously playing Stratego, assuming 15-20 minutes per game.
I have less than 200 still. I don't think I will even get to 500, by that time I have moved to some new gaming hobby.
Posted 27 October 2017 - 02:00 PM
Proud Member of the Stratego Captains Club (the strongest club in Greece by a long margin)
Posted 28 October 2017 - 11:41 AM
Edited by Don_Homer, 28 October 2017 - 11:44 AM.
Posted 28 October 2017 - 11:48 AM
" I can win everyone, but i can not lose from anyone "
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users