Photo

Is it bad etiquette to play out a losing position?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 DavidSWu

DavidSWu

New Recruit

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Captain

Posted 15 December 2015 - 03:02 AM

Hi everyone!

My username is DavidSWu and recently I started playing online Stratego. I just found out about the forum today. 

So today I played a game against a significantly higher ranked player and I got into a hopelessly lost position with his colonel and two majors ruling the board.

Then he started hurling insults at me for not quitting the game, although I played quickly, stopping only to reply in the chat. I did not say anything mean to him in return.

Eventually he found my flag and I lost. My question is, do you guys consider it bad etiquette to play out such a hopelessly lost position? If so then I apologize to my opponent, even though I wish he would lighten up on the insults.

• Lonello likes this

#2 scottrussia

scottrussia

Captain

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 826 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Captain

Posted 15 December 2015 - 03:19 AM

If your not wasting time then attack away!!!!

Likely he/she had an open flag and was worried you'd find a way to get by and capture the flag.

• Lonello and Dobby125 like this

​Spartan Warriors

KING of the Battlefield!!!!!!

#3 GaryLShelton

GaryLShelton

Flagbearer

• Moderators
  • 6,830 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Gold Spy

Posted 15 December 2015 - 06:23 AM

DavidSWu, it is not bad etiquette to finish out a losing game in and of itself. What becomes poor etiquette/sportsmanship is playing slow (using 15 seconds a turn), attacking your opponent in chat, letting your buffer run down, and disconnecting. If you're not doing these things and are playing as honestly as you can, don't worry about it. There's possible a split decision on this topic site wide, and it may be different for different ranks.