Jump to content


Photo

Bug in 2-square repetition-prevention rule


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 NTactical

NTactical

    Scout

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Silver Spy

Posted 13 February 2013 - 11:32 PM

Here is what I encountered today in a game against Manical:
  • I got my 9 on the far left, next to and enemy Marshall.
  • We moved both towards the enemy camp (tried to slip past).
  • I knew the 2sq rule and used it to my advantage.
  • However, in front of me was a highly likely bomb, so we moved back and forth the well-known five times until he couldn't move it anymore.
  • Then he moved a piece towards my 8, which could have been at most an 8.
  • (**) So I attacked the piece: an 8, so it was a trade.
  • Next, the enemy moved his Marshall towards my General
  • I couldn't move my General back! So I was forced to step on the highly likely bomb: yep, a bomb..
==> Obviously my move marked at bullet 6 (**) which turned out te be a trade (but still a move!) was not detected as a move, causing the system to think that my last step-away at bullet 4 was my very last move.

Pity, because this decided the game in the end. Hope this might be fixed some time.

- NTactical

- NTactical

MSc in Computer Science, track Software Technology, specialisation in Algorithms and Web Information Systems

Big Stratego fan  :D


#2 HmmNess

HmmNess

    Awesome Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Marshal

Posted 28 February 2013 - 09:41 AM

I am going to pin this post. 

 

I have heard of this happen to others and it has also happened to me.  It seems that if you attack with a different piece when your piece is pinned by the 2 square rule, the software doesn't acknowledge the ATTACK action as a MOVE action.  Perhaps the ATTACK action for any of your other pieces does not clear the cache for the 2 square rule on your piece to move.  That is my best guess on why this glitch is occurring.

 

NTactical:

On move 6 the software did not acknowledge your ATTACK action as a move, so the software did not clear the cache for your General.  If you would have just moved another piece and did not attack the Col with your Col, I'm pretty sure the cache would have cleared for your General and you wouldn't have been stuck.

 

HmmNess


Posted Image

#3 HmmNess

HmmNess

    Awesome Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Coat of arms
  • Bronze Marshal

Posted 28 February 2013 - 11:39 AM

Alright, this bug is fixed.  Just reload your game and it should not occur again.  I just tested it.

 

HmmNess


  • Midnightguy likes this
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users