Whatever, I'm fed up with reacting on it.
It's pathetic bs and there is absolutely no common sense that two miners can win against two sergs with both sealed flag.
You can talk what you want, it's just a tie and that's that.
I'll chase till I die
trickz, your two sergeants can and will win, if, and only if, they have the "Odd Number Positioning Advantage" on the two miners, AND they can corner both of the miners against an edge. So, the two miners will not always beat the two sergeants, even under ISF rules. They will only do so if they have the odd number positioning advantage on the two sergeants. Without it, they may tie, yes, but they cannot win. In simple terms if both pieces end up in diagonal position to one another, the one whose turn it is will be at the disadvantage since this is an EVEN number of spaces apart. The person whose turn it is wants an ODD number of moves between himself and his opponent. Or, with two pieces left per player as in your example, the person whose turn it is wants the distance between each of his pieces and their individual object pieces to be an ODD number of moves. The "Odd Number Positioning Advantage" is what I am calling this natural rule of the game. It is being an ODD number of spaces away from your opponent when it is your turn to move. If you have this positioning advantage (your opponent's square is an EVEN number of spaces away from you and it is his turn to move), you can definitely win, but you WILL DO NO WORSE than DRAW against the miners with your two sergeants, trickz. This worst case of the DRAW will only happen if your opponent can run one of his miners around a bomb our lake and therefore draw the game. But if you can corner off both of the two miners along an edge, you will WIN with the two sergeants.
I don't know if this strategic advantage can, in all practicality be played for, because it is so changeable by the many movements of any scout by either player throughout the course of the game. But if you see you have it at the end, you're in like Flynn. At least you won't lose, so this is something.
Perhaps someone would know of an exception to this, but I think I'm right here.
Edited by GaryLShelton, 08 October 2014 - 05:01 AM.